Minimum Wage in New Jersey Gets a Raise on January 1, 2024; Here are the Basic Facts

How much is the minimum wage in New Jersey?

Effective January 1, 2024, the New Jersey minimum wage is $15.13 per hour for most workers. Please refer to New Jersey’s Minimum Wage Chart for scheduled increases.

Do all workers have to be paid the minimum wage?

Most employees have minimum wage protection under the law. There are exceptions, such as automobile salespersons, outside salespersons, and minors under the age of 18, except for minors working in retail, food service, the first processing of farm products, beauty culture occupations, laundry, cleaning and dyeing occupations, light manufacturing and apparel occupations, and hotel and motel occupations.

If I am a tipped employee, is my employer required to pay the minimum wage rate?

Your total earnings (hourly wage plus tips) must equal at least the minimum wage per hour. The hourly rate is up to your employer; however, effective January 1, 2024, the required rate is a minimum of $5.26 per hour. If the hourly rate plus tips does not equal at least the minimum wage per hour, the employer is required to make up the difference. Please refer to New Jersey’s Minimum Wage Chart for scheduled increases.      

Is the employer allowed to reduce my rate of pay?

 Yes. The employer can reduce your rate of pay as long as you are given advance notice of the reduction. The reduction cannot be made retroactively for any time worked. Also, the reduction cannot bring the rate of pay below minimum wage.

Comments are closed.