Highland Park election results were predicted – unlike national results


Even though most of the country voted in a manner that shocked all experts, – Republican and Democratic, Highland Park’s election results held no surprises on either the local or national level. Voters elected Darcie Cimarusti, Judy Pietrobono, and Mark Krieger to the Highland Park School Board, and they heeded Highland Park Mayor Gayle Brill Mittler’s advice to participate in the uncontested local election and cast their ballot for the recently deceased Councilmember Jon Erickson.

She noted that a vote for Jon was a way to reinforce his humane and progressive values and his commitment to diversity, equal opportunities for all residents, as well as tax stabilization. Community activist and communications professional Matt Hersh has been appointed to Councilman Erickson’s seat until the January 3 Highland Park Borough Council reorganization meeting, at which time council will appoint an individual to serve for one full year. In Nov. 2017, the voters will decide who will fill the remaining two years of Mr. Erickson’s seat.

Below are the local vote tallies the election results for Highland Park. Congressman Frank Pallone from the Sixth Legislative District won re-election. The 18th NJ Legislative District election saw more than 60 percent of the voters electing Patrick Deignan to the NJ Senate and Robert Karabinchak to the NJ Assembly.

Two, three-year terms

✓ Phil George (D) 4,241

✓ Jon Erickson (D) 4,208

Herbert Gross (R) 1,337

Board of Education

Three, three-year terms

✓ Darcie Cimarusti 2,583

✓ Judy Pietrobono 2,763

✓ Mark Krieger 2,546

Haiying Yan 1,085


Comments are closed.